Contact Us

PrintPrintPDFPDF

Email: IRB@ucsf.edu – Please email general questions. Contact your analyst directly using the staff directory below when possible.
Main Phone: 415-476-1814
Fax: 415-502-1347
Campus Box: 0962

Address: UCSF
Human Research Protection Program, Box 0962
3333 California Street, Suite 315
San Francisco, CA 94143 (use zip code 94118 for UPS, FedEx or other deliveries)

Staff Directory

Please contact your analyst for assistance. If you are unsure who your analyst is, track your submission in iRIS. Staff are grouped below by the type of work they do in the office.

Directors

Laurie Herraiz

Laurie Herraiz, CIP, CCRP
HRPP Director
415 514-9246
Laurie.Herraiz@ucsf.edu

I oversee the operations of the HRPP office. I work with the HRPP staff, IRB committee members, and the broader UCSF research community to protect participants and initiate studies in a timely fashion.

Iris illustrations. Pieter Withroos, 18th Century

HRPP Associate Director - Position Currently Vacant

Taylar Hagan-Colyar, CIP, CHES
QIU Director
415 476-9840
taylar.hagan@ucsf.edu

I oversee on-site compliance monitoring, investigations, post-approval events and HRPP educational activities.

 

New Studies  Exempt or Expedited/Minimal Risk Research 
Iris illustrations. Pieter Withroos, 18th Century

Joanne Mickalian, MA, CIP
Expedited and Exempt Coordinator Manager
415-476-1744
Joanne.Mickalian@ucsf.edu

I manage the IRB analysts who process exempt and expedited review studies. I also screen and review many of these studies.

Cheri Etter

Cheri Etter, CIP
GESCR Coordinator/ Expedited and Exempt Coordinator
415-476-8714
Cheri.Etter@ucsf.edu

I process submissions for the Human Gamete, Embryo and Stem Cell Research (GESCR) Committee. I also review new exempt and expedited review studies for the IRB.

Wendy Goldberger

Wendy Goldberger, MS
Expedited and Exempt Coordinator
415-502-2328
Wendy.Goldberger@ucsf.edu

I process new exempt and expedited review studies for the IRB.

Iris illustrations. Pieter Withroos, 18th Century

Kiya Komaiko
Expedited and Exempt Coordinator
502-7730
Kiya.Komaiko@ucsf.edu

I process new exempt and expedited review studies for the IRB.

Iris illustrations. Pieter Withroos, 18th Century

Michelle LeMenager, CIP
Expedited and Exempt Coordinator
Michelle.LeMenager@ucsf.edu

I process new exempt and expedited review studies for the IRB. Please note I am available only by email.

Judith Navratil

Judith Navratil, MA, CIP
Expedited and Exempt Coordinator
Judith.Navratil@ucsf.edu

I process new exempt and expedited review studies for the IRB. Please note I am available only by email.

Iris illustrations. Pieter Withroos, 18th Century

Donna Woo, MA, CIP
Expedited and Exempt Coordinator
Donna.Woo@ucsf.edu

I process new exempt and expedited review studies for the IRB. Please note I am available only by email.

New Studies  Full Committee /Greater Than Minimal Risk Research

Iris illustrations. Pieter Withroos, 18th Century

Jason Keenan
IRB Manager
415-514-3822
Jason.Keenan@ucsf.edu

I manage the Committee Coordinators who process full committee review studies, the Cancer Center Coordinator, and the Assistant Coordinators who process modifications and continuing reviews.

Karen Chao

Karen Chao, PhD, CIP
Laurel Heights Committee Coordinator
415-502-4353
Karen.Chao@ucsf.edu

I process new studies that require full committee review for the Laurel Heights IRB Committee. I also manage the meeting agendas for that committee.

Iris illustrations. Pieter Withroos, 18th Century

Jonathan Grosvenor
Full Committee Coordinator (temporary)
Jonathan.Grosvenor@ucsf.edu

I process new studies that require full committee review. Please note I am available only by email.

Claudette Mandac
Parnassus Committee Coordinator
415-476-1172
ClaudetteAnne.Mandac@ucsf.edu

I process new studies that require full committee review for the Parnassus IRB Committee. I also manage the meeting agendas for that committee.

Elizabeth Mendelsohn

Elizabeth Mendelsohn, CIP
Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital (ZSFG) Committee Coordinator
415-476-8148
Elizabeth.Mendelsohn@ucsf.edu

I process new studies that require full committee review for the ZSFG IRB Committee, which includes studies at the SFDPH. I also manage the meeting agendas for the ZSFG IRB committee.

Iris illustrations. Pieter Withroos, 18th Century

Michael Shaffer, CIP
Mt. Zion Committee Coordinator
415-476-6097
Michael.Shaffer@ucsf.edu

I process new studies that require full committee review for the Mt. Zion IRB Committee.  I also manage the meeting agendas for that committee.

Iris illustrations. Pieter Withroos, 18th Century

Meghan Tedesco
Specialized Coordinator
415-514-3823
Meghan.Tedesco@ucsf.edu

I process submissions for studies conducted by researchers from UCSF Neuro-Oncology. I also screen and review studies from other UCSF departments.

Iris illustrations. Pieter Withroos, 18th Century

Jessica Phillips
Reliance/Full Committee Coordinator
415-476-3477
Jessica.Phillips@ucsf.edu

I process reliance submissions. I also screen and review studies that require full committee review.

Modifications, Continuing Reviews and Closeout Reports
Iris illustrations. Pieter Withroos, 18th Century

Marcia Ewing
Assistant Coordinator 
415-514-3824
Marcia.Ewing@ucsf.edu

I work at the HRPP front desk and triage phone calls and emails. I occasionally process modifications and continuing review for studies that do not involve subject contact.

 
Iris illustrations. Pieter Withroos, 18th Century

Front Desk Analyst - Position Currently Vacant

Iris illustrations. Pieter Withroos, 18th Century

Imad Din
Laurel Heights Committee Assistant Coordinator
415-514-7268
Imad.Din@ucsf.edu

I process modifications and continuing reviews that undergo review by the Laurel Heights IRB committee.

Karen Simpkins

Karen Simpkins, MLS
Mt. Zion Committee Assistant Coordinator
415-476-9134
Karen.Simpkins@ucsf.edu

I process modifications and continuing reviews that are reviewed by the Mt. Zion IRB committee.

Iris illustrations. Pieter Withroos, 18th Century

Iya (Maria) Vargas
Assistant Coordinator
Iya.Vargas@ucsf.edu

I process modifications and continuing reviews for minimal risk studies. Please note I am available only by email.

Iris illustrations. Pieter Withroos, 18th Century

Megan Oakes
Parnassus Committee Assistant Coordinator
415-514-0875
Megan.Oakes@ucsf.edu

I process modifications and continuing reviews that are reviewed by the Parnassus IRB committee.

Iris illustrations. Pieter Withroos, 18th Century

Leyla Herrera
Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital (ZSFGH) Assistant Coordinator
415-514-7270
Leyla.Herrera@ucsf.edu

I process modifications and continuing reviews that are reviewed by the Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital (ZSFGH) IRB committee.

 

Adverse Events, Protocol Violations, Other Safety Info and Site Visits: Quality Improvement Unit (QIU)

Annette Bugatto UCSF IRB

Annette Bugatto, CIP
Quality Assurance Coordinator
415-502-0170
Annette.Bugatto@ucsf.edu

Working in the QIU, I conduct routine site visits, review post-approval reports – such as adverse events and protocol violations – and conduct other QI activities.

Iris illustrations. Pieter Withroos, 18th Century

Quality Assurance Coordinator – Position Currently Vacant

Education and Training

Kate Nolan, MPH, CIP
Education and Training Coordinator
415-476-3067
Kate.Nolan@ucsf.edu

See the Education Opportunities page for upcoming training events. Contact our office with questions.

GESCR

Cheri Etter

Cheri Etter, CIP
GESCR Coordinator/ Expedited and Exempt Coordinator
415-476-8714
Cheri.Etter@ucsf.edu

I process submissions for the Human Gamete, Embryo and Stem Cell Research (GESCR) Committee. I also review new exempt and expedited studies for the IRB.

Business Analyst and Other Staff

Iris illustrations. Pieter Withroos, 18th Century
Senior Business Analyst - Position Currently Vacant
 

Iris illustrations. Pieter Withroos, 18th Century

Stephen Chandler
iRIS System Business Analyst
Stephen.Chandler@ucsf.edu
415-514-4948

I assist with the management of the iRIS system at UCSF. Please contact your assigned analyst or our main phone line or email for help with iRIS issues.

Melanie Mace
IRB Analyst
Melanie.Mace@ucsf.edu

I manage the IRB website. Please note that I am only available by email.

Ami Patel

Ami Patel, MPH
Protocol Builder Pro Coordinator
415-476-9837
Ami.Patel2@ucsf.edu

I am responsible for the oversight of the Protocol Builder Pro (PBP) software tool, which provides the structure and standard format for FDA compliant scientific protocols.

Liz Tioupine

Liz Tioupine, CIP
Sr. System and Process Administrator
415-502-3193
Elizabeth.Tioupine@ucsf.edu

I manage the iRIS system at UCSF, collaborate with the vendor on system updates and bug fixes, write and run reports, and manage special projects. Please contact your assigned analyst or our main phone line or email for help with iRIS issues.

VA Clinical Research Office and CTSI CRS

VA Clinical Research Office: 415-221-4810, ext. 26425, Gregory Green or Jennifer Ransom

CTSI Clinical Research Services (CRS): 415-502-0136, Teresa Luu